Which Van Tillian have you found most helpful?

4 Jun

I thought this might be an interesting poll because Van Til influenced so many people, including the somewhat well known (at least in the “apologetics community”) Christian apologists (all with their own published works) in this poll.

I voted for Greg Bahnsen because the many lectures I purchased and listened to years ago helped me to better understand more than anything. In fact, I would recommend listening to Greg Bahnsen’s explanation of the Van Tillian apologetic, before reading Van Til. Although, I listened (in amazement) to a few of Dr. Van Til’s old recordings before listening to Dr. Bahnsen, it is because I listened to Dr. Van Til, that I wanted to better understand him, and heeded someone’s recommendation to learn from Dr. Bahnsen. I ended up spending a small fortune on old recordings (mostly poor quality) of Dr. Bahnsen’s lectures and sermons, and despite the lackluster quality of the recordings, I do not regret buying them for one second (though would have helped if they were cheaper). Anyway, enough about me, let’s hear about you!

2 Responses to “Which Van Tillian have you found most helpful?”

  1. mathischristian June 21, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    What he said.

  2. Troy Lynch January 1, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

    I found that Bahnsen, in his “Van Til’s Apologetic: Readings and Analysis” (ISBN 9780875520988), brings together (in many of the footnotes) many of the core, fundamental points of philosophy that undergird Van Til’s position, as well as explain the changing nature and terminology of philosophy in general. However, I feel that Rushdoony has done a sterling job of applying Van Til’s position to Reformed thinking and to developing a robust and practical world-view for the Christian. Rushdoony’s insights on the one-and-the-many failure of philosophy clearly emanate from Van Til on the same. The solution of course, in Van Til’s words, is the self-attesting Christ of Scripture – the Lord Jesus.

Leave a Reply

